What Do I See

By MatthewHicks

I See No Ships

At the weekend I was helping to clear my paternal grandmother's house. She is now in a nursing home, and her house has been sold so we needed to start clearing things out.

Its a rather strange experience. Chucking out and divvying up someone's belongings that is still alive. Making decisions as to what to keep, what to sell, what to throw away.

This ship in a bottle was always on the table in their living room. I recall it as a child, not for any particular reason, it was just always there. My grandfather made it (apparently) He was a bit handy and enjoyed making things, I remember him making me games and puzzles as a small boy, it was always interesting to see what Grandsha had come up with next.

I thought that Oliver would like it, as they were recently doing pirate themed things in school (and to him any rigged ship is a pirate ship). I don't think he really understands the connection or who his great grandfather is, but hopefully it will stay in reasonable condition and it can be a little bit of his history for him to keep.

I have no idea why my Grandsha made a ship in a bottle, he wasn't nautical (that was my maternal grandfather's territory) I think he just wanted the challenge of making a ship in a bottle, nothing more than that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.