PeckhamBelle

By PeckhamBelle

Green wing

Tom spotted this parakeet feather while he and I were walking round Crystal Palace Park, trying to kill time before our holiday tomorrow.

The last day before a holiday seems very, very long when you're 12. All your clothes are either being washed or are already packed. Everything you want to do ('can I make an obstacle course all around the house??' 'NO' 'can I make flapjacks? 'NO!') is banned, and the grown ups are having endless boring conversations ('can you remember if there was a peeler at the house? I think there was a peeler, can you remember if there was a corkscrew? Shall we take the knives/a pillow/the coffee machine/the gin?')

We don't travel light.

He put himself to bed at 7.30 pm saying 'it's better if I just go to sleep. Then tomorrow will come quicker'.

We need to get up at 4.30 am. Tomorrow will come quicker than he thinks.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.