An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Sunshine in a Vase...

David went into the kitchen this morning to grab a bowl of cereal, came back upstairs to get dressed and when he went back down into the kitchen 5 minutes later, out of nowhere an envelope addressed to us and bunch of sunflowers had appeared on the kitchen worktop!

Turns out Ed had popped in to collect the keys for Alan's car to take it away and clean it and his wife Elaine had asked him to leave these for us to cheer us up and say thank you for letting her come to France with Ed and join in our adventure.  (card is shown in my extra photo) 

How lovely is that?!  I should be thanking her as she spent her week washing Alan's bedlinen and ironing!  (We are planning to take her and Ed out for a thank you dinner once Alan's a bit better) 

Just a simple gesture but it's really cheered me up.  The sunflowers are on the kitchen window sill and every time I glance over its like the sun is shining in the window.  And wouldn't you know, in the last hour, the sun has actually shown face.

My mood is a bit lighter today as Alan finally settled at 1am and slept till 10.30 this morning.  He's eaten some custard and choc buttons and was in the mood for a wander round the garden with Ed.  He's been dozing for the rest of the time but at last, he has managed a smile.  Not for me (he's still grumpy with me but that's allowed :-))  He grinned when I asked him if he felt well enough for Grandpa and Norma to visit over the next week and he grinned when Ed arrived at lunch time.  Progress at last I feel.

Something David said this morning that made me laugh.  In deadly earnest he said, "If that alarm clock hadn't woken me I'd still be asleep!"

Hahahahaha - no shit Sherlock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.