MonoMonday - Balance

If you can keep your head when all about you
      Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
      If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
      But make allowance for their doubting too:
      If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
      Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,

If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken 
   Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
   Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
   And stoop and build 'em up with worn-out tools:
   
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
   With sixty seconds' worth of distance run,
   Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
   And---which is more---you'll be a Man, my son! 

Rudyard Kipling


When Kipling states "If you can fill the unforgiving minute/With sixty seconds' worth of distance run," he is saying that with every minute that you are given, make the absolute most of it that you can. Do the best you can, in that minute.


I've been trying to find Balance in my life. I love this poem's sagely wisdom about Balance - it's beautifully written. I've not quoted the whole poem, but it's worth reading in its entirety.

Believe it or not, a Roofer is supposed to be coming to my house this week, to measure up and quote. Don't hold your breath! but here's hoping. Maybe truth is going to prevail, at last.


There's supposed to be Balance in this image - see if you can find balance in the composition, in lots and lots of triangles! I've think I've counted 15   :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.