Applesauce

The good neighbours took down a couple of low branches from an apple tree and loads of apples fell on the ground. If they did not take the branches/limbs then the weight of the harvest would have broken them. With this 'windfall' I came home with a 5 gallon bucket full of these tart apples. 
There was some kind of dark film on them... fungus?   I soaked them in a baking soda bath, wiped and rinsed each one before dumping them here to be chopped and cored. They are organically grown in that they never have been sprayed. And there are worm holes to prove it.
The first batch of apple sauce is in the fridge chilling. It tastes very good too.
The next group are in the fridge in bags waiting to be chopped. I found that I needed the sink to get the dishes washed up. I am a slow chopper.
We have reache the applesauce time of the year. I fooled around with the end photo trying to make it 'old-fashioned' looking. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.