The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sunset at New Barns

This is the turning point on Gus's evening walk along the estuary, New Barn's Bay.  It was about 10 minutes after sunset.  There are at least five herons in the view, three are small dots in the bright part of the water, the other two may be lost in the shadows.

I missed Gus today, he stayed at home with Wifie when I was at a meeting in Penrith.  An evening walk as the sun sets is the ultimate destressor after a busy day.

Update on the steam train that never appeared on Saturday.  Dr T tells me it didn't make it past Carlisle, finished off by the long haul up to Shap Summit.  It was found to have a hot leading driving axle, and they didn't want to risk a breakdown on the remote parts of the Cumbria coast.  Perhaps I need to get a Smartphone, as I probably could have saved myself and Gus one and a half hours waiting forlornly.  Or maybe not!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.