Goodbye my Delta Lady.

Standing once again in the carpark of Operations Wing at Royal Air Force Waddington, from where I first saw and photographed her flying back in 2008, this is the last airworthy Vulcan, XH558 beginning a tight 270 degree left-hand turn.

We've been together a lot in just over 7 years. I've photographed a wedding under her, caught her passing through the sun (which I have had personally signed by 6 crew members - it's hung on my office wall), completed the 'AVRO Dash (touching her and the BBMF and the Canadian Lancaster in under a minute when they were all at RAF Waddington in 2014), spent many a happy hour with her in the hanger and also had my name in the bomb bay door since she started flying again (organised way back in 1999!).

It's been my pleasure. I'll miss you.

Today is also my little brother's 40th Birthday  - Happy Birthday Darren!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.