We'll Keep All the Lanterns Lit Till You Get Home

I hadn't been to Millbrook lately, and I was hoping to get some photos, up close and personal, of leaves on one of my favorite boardwalks. It turns out there were no leaves on the boardwalk at all (dang, they run a TIDY ship), but there were other things to see . . .

As I rounded a bend in the boardwalk, I saw the morning light shining brightly on the surface of the run. The sunlight reflected up through some plants growing near the boardwalk and drew my attention to them. As I looked closer, I noted that the plant's seed pods resembled tiny lanterns!

So I hunkered down low and took a bunch of shots, with the sun's reflection providing some lovely golden back lighting for the pretty little pods. Each tiny "lantern" had intricate filigree patterns on it: delicate, lacy, so pretty. This was my favorite shot of the bunch.

The thought of the tiny golden lanterns, with their hearts full of light, gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling. It reminded me of family and home, where they keep all the lanterns lit (and if you're lucky, supper waiting) till you get home. . . . 

The tune: Trace Adkins, with Every Light in the House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.