Seeing double

An excellent film last night, Theeb was slow, elegant film-making with some breath-taking photography. Filmed I suspect in Jordan near Petra, it was a sort of coming of age story for a young Bedouin boy who unwittingly got caught up in various conflicts. The young boy was extraordinary - a luminous real performance. Recommended.

Coffee and big catch up with my ex-boss in Schull this morning then a yomp around the circuit. I had to run to get this blip!! I'm sure there's a saying to the effect that women and horses shouldn't run - I suspect it was Oscar Wilde but I can't find it. On investigation it looks it might have been Lord Byron and it was cows and women! I still can't find the quote but I like this one : A woman should never be seen eating or drinking, unless it be lobster salad and Champagne, the only true feminine and becoming viands.

Odd and interesting how the bit inside the rainbow is lighter than the  bit outside. There is no doubt a scientific reason - answers on a postcard.

Forget the lobster, I'm off for my champagne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.