Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Elaine's Broken Garden

I have often talked about my next door neighbor, Elaine.  Whether it was her bizarre "pod bush" or fooling around and trying to hide from my camera.  Unfortunately, that will be the only portrait I will ever have of her.  I will never have one of her face.

Elaine had hip surgery in the late summer.  She had some complications with her balance and blood pressure which kept her bedridden except when with her therapist.  I last visited her shortly after I had my broken hand diagnosis, around October 5 when I told her of my impending surgery. Now I feel like a bad neighbor.  A horrible friend.

Yesterday, as my Homeowner's Association meeting was wrapping up, my snowbird neighbor, Barb (who lives on the other side of me), tapped me on the shoulder and blurted out, "Elaine is dying. She's on hospice."  I didn't take that well.  Could she have waited until we arrived home and asked me "if I had heard the sad news about Elaine?"

This afternoon I took a "Family Comfort Box of Love" over to her husband, Frank, and their kids.  Included was an apple pie, a large package of caramel filled Hershey's Kisses, a gift card to Subway and a huge, squishy, white Teddy bear for Elaine (and for any of them who needed a hug). 

Elaine's kidneys have failed and now it's just a waiting game.  She can't see or speak but she seems to know you are there.  When I told her Zippy said hello and was thinking of her I could see her trying to speak.  I even thought I saw her lips curl up a bit in the corners at the sound of his name.

She seemed to like the feel of the softness of the Teddy bear.  I saw her in a tender moment with Frank, reach up and touch it.  He told me she's not in any pain which is comforting for the family. 

Frank may soon be alone again with her as the children need to travel back to their homes in various parts of the country.  before I left, I told him to call on me at any time he feels he needs to get out of the house for a break, a respite...that I would be more than happy to sit with Elaine for him.  I told him I understood how hard it has been on him these months, barely leaving her side, and how draining it is to be a caretaker.

I think this must have been the first time anyone has offered to give him a break from the house because he teared up and told me he just might take me up on my offer.  I hope he does. 

It makes me sad when I go into my backyard and look into what was once a pristine and beautiful garden (look at the background in the picture from last January) and see the overthrown pots, weeds and dead or overgrown bushes and vines. 

What's worse is seeing the bare, vacant chair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.