Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fallen Lisianthus

I planned some outdoor shots today but the weather is so wild and windy that I decided against it. At least it is not too cold, unlike Scotland where I think they are expecting  a light snowfall overnight. I bought some Lisianthus today, also known as Eustoma, and when I placed them in the vase I saw that some flowers had broken off so I decided these fallen flowers would be good in a photo as a tribute to the fallen Jonah Lomu, the rugby great whose funeral was held in Auckland today. Seeing the haka being performed in his honour brought tears to my eyes.

I had a pleasant surprise this morning when I received an email to say that one of my photos has been chosen as one of the twelve winners for a calendar for Surrey Life magazine. I promptly rushed out and bought the magazine and saw the calendar! There is also an exhibition in January of these twelve photos and we each receive a framed print of our image.

Now back to writing those Christmas cards....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.