Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Wren...

I thought I'd spend the next week or so trying to blip a different back-yard bird each day.  If I get really lucky, I may be able to stretch this out for two weeks...sigh.  A far cry from last year at this time.  Anyway, since I know it will be a cinch to get woodpeckers, titmice, chickadees, cardinals and blue jays, I thought I'd start with some of the harder ones.  As luck would have it, while I was sitting on the sofa watching the feeders, tea in one hand and camera in the other (as one does) this morning, a pair of Carolina Wrens flew up to check things out.  I snapped a half-dozen shots, through the window, before they both flitted off.  

Yard Bird #1 - Carolina Wren

I spent a good hour outside (freezing my ass off) hoping they'd come back so I could get a better shot, but although I could hear them calling to each other laughing at me in the woods, they wouldn't show their cute little bandit faces.  

After growing tired of stalking wrens, I decided to go back into the woods behind our house to look around - and found two of my missing suet feeders, buried in the leaves!  Take THAT, bears!!  Amazingly, both suet cages were intact and only needed to be washed.  I feel vindicated.  Of course, this still put the bears way ahead of me in the total bird-feeder tally.  But still...

Being on a roll with the suet cages, I decided to get my snippers and go up on the hill next to our house and try to eradicate some of the invasive vines.  That didn't go real well, although I think I got a few of them.  Damned things.  

The sun finally showed itself around 1, so I dashed off to get in a quick hike.  My back is bothering me (bursitis in my hips, I think) so I only did 1.5 miles.  Still, better than nothing.  

Hubs just got home from the "Man Cave" where he and one of his race-team partners were working on a new car they are building.  It's a pretty amazing process - it starts with a bare frame and a huge number of boxes with parts.  Somehow, it will end up being a race car...or so they say.

I must say that I have really enjoyed looking at the images and reading some of the journals for yesterday's #PledgeBlipfoto.  So many creative, imaginative, amazing images, so many moving words.  It would be so very sad to lose this place.  Let's all do what we can to save it, okay?  Pledge HERE!

And for everyone who left stars, hearts and wonderfully kind comments on my journal yesterday...thank you.  

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.