Winter vegetable soup

I got totally disheartened and depressed this afternoon - I did my tax return (which took all day because I was stupid enough not to have touched my expenditure spreadsheet since last January).  They again seem to want an arm and a leg from me.  I don't quite see how small businesses are meant to survive, get ahead and contribute to the economy when you get such a huge bill.  And why half of it again has to be paid in advance is just nonsensical.

Oh well, I guess it will be Rome on a shoestring in February.

When I was at home, I met a friend for lunch and we had a winter vegetable soup at a local restaurant, which was just delicious.  I am not a huge fan of winter veg (though I do love a leek), but this was stunning.  I had some leeks, parsnips, carrots and leeks left over from a casserole I made on New Year's Eve, so found a recipe to use (most of) them up, and had a go at it to take my mind off the stupid HMRC.  

It actually came out really well.  Not quite as good as the one at the Proper Gander (in Tywyn - if you're ever up there, go to this restaurant.  The chef is phenomenal), but still pretty good.  I added some garlic, which wasn't in the recipe I found, but I think next time I'll add more, and I might add some chilli in there too.  Also perhaps go a bit easier on the parsnips.  

Now, I think I may be off to get a bottle of Baileys and a straw.  Sodding taxman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.