As the tide came in

A quiet start to the day. We sorted out when we need to be back in the city, and so have another night here. Decided on another walk down by the water, as the tide was coming in. I figured that with the sun shining and the water still some couple of hundred metres or more away from the shore, I should see some Kuaka (Bar-tailed godwits). Before I saw them I saw four Tuturiwhatu (New Zealand Dotterel). Lovely little birds. I have no doubt on the recognition of the male in alternate plumage, but had some questions about one of the females. However, I think it most unlikely that a Mongolian Sand Plover (which is anyway rare) would be seen with tuturiwhatu.

Tempted as I was by my photos of those little birds, I like this shot of a kuaka running through the shallow water. There were not as many this morning as I saw about a year ago. I hope that is just random and not indicating a fall in the number making it back to New Zealand from Alaska. 

When I was having my lunch after getting back to the Beachhouse, and sitting with my leg up on the window seat, I had some frantic fluttering above me; by the windows. There was a small greenfinch. I approached it slowly with my hand and, having caught it on first try (fortunately), I held it gently and carried it out to the feeding table and set it down there. It stayed crouched down and unmoving for almost a minute before shaking itself, fluffing its feathers and then ate some seed.

Apparently the greenfinch had been flying into the closed glass doors onto the deck, so S had opened them while I was down birdwatching. I assume that the one inside flew through the open doors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.