Cumbrian Art

The Lakes Artists' Society Winter Exhibition is taking place at the Rheged Discovery Centre just outside Penrith. We were passing the front door on our way home this morning so decided to call in.  There were some truly beautiful items on display in a fabulous space for art.

I was fascinated by these "mirrors" with birds "painted" on them.  I don't know exactly how they had been done but they would grace any room I think.  Contrast that with the sculpture in front of them and some of the beautiful paintings you can see reflected in the mirrors...

I also found copies of Ian Lawson's Book of Herdwick Sheep photography.  How I would love one of those!  When Blip is safe maybe I will buy myself one to celebrate.  It will be a big celebration!  

I know someone who had a copy of that book.  I hope they still have...

Back into routine now.

If you can get to Rheged before the exhibition ends, I'm sure you would enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.