Winter Woollies

Another bright crisp day with snow on the hills on the Beara - I was leaping in an out of the car all the way to Bantry, accompanying Himself as he did the weekly shop. He slaved away and I took lots of photos and had a bit of an explore - Bantry Bay looking pretty remarkable (see extras). I also had a wander around the now abandoned Sisters of Mercy Convent - quite a few signs warnings about the perils of trespass but I was just interested rather than up to no  good. Typically someone had spotted me and came to investigate. We had a great chat. He had helped to move the remaining nuns out seven years ago - just a handful of them.What a huge building - once with a school attached, and a rather fine chapel. I found the enclosed burial plot where they all lay - all the sisters Aloysius, Gabriel, Benedict and Stanislaus. The old convent is in a fine position up high, overlooking the town. I wonder who might be interested in restoring it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.