Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Close encounter

A close encounter in the woods this morning as powerful beams of light penetrated the trees. One of them locked on to Pippa but she wriggled free  just after I took this shot. The man and his dog in the second image were not quite so fortunate. They disappeared. Troops scoured the area but there was no trace. The truth is out there (on Planet 9?).

The Blog. It sounds as if I know what I'm talking about, not really, just stuff I've noticed about this light. I pinned the blog on Pickflicks, a Pinterest board I've made that contains all kinds of photography tips, most of which will be new to old hands in this place. 

That last image on the blog was taken on my Android smartphone (Galaxy S5), then put through the drama filter in snapseed, then Whatsapped to my family circle (boys and Gill) who could see it before I'd left the wood. That's what bowls me over about the new media - how you can engineer it for yourself. You can see what that snapseed filter did here (this one is pre-filter and I think I like the softer look of that image better). There isn't "wrong" or "right" here. It's personal preference. All that "straight out of the camera" stuff is bollocks when you can adjust in-camera settings. I've never understood that boast but I do understand those who want something "natural". Nature didn't need a helping hand today.

I used three cameras this morning on the dog walk - Nikon, Fujifilm and Galaxy S5 - a big difference in costs but not in the results. Sometimes it's just the light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.