IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

"Shrines"

I seem to create shrines to beauty...at least what I see or feel to be beautiful. I imagine many of us do. My father used to have shrines around him; any nearby shelf or surface would collect a growing collection of found objects - a bird skull, stones from the beach, the label from a Mediterranean Olive Oil container, a circuit board from a broken tv...anything that caught his visual eye.
One thing I remember about the Nuer of the Sudan - a pastoral people who move their cattle herd from place to place in search of grazing - when they set up camp, they always pitched their tents with the opening to the East. In the evenings, they tethered their cattle - their livelihood and an essential part of their lives - near the front of the tent. Every morning when they awoke, the first thing they would set eyes on would be the rising sun and their beloved cattle.

This particular shrine is on the kitchen mantelpiece just under the cookery books.

A bit of an Emergency Blip as I was busy most of the day and didn't get any photos during daylight hours. I shall be glued to the one eyed monster tonight as my football team are in the last 16 of the Champions League...I will try not to hold my breath, they are the underdogs. So advance apologies but I may not get around to much commenting tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.