TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Eucalyptus erythrocorys

Eucalyptus erythrocorys is one of the most spectacular of the eucalyptus when in flower. The flowers are preceded by large rectangular scarlet buds and are followed by large helmet-shaped fruits.
I have walked past this specimen in our gardens for the past week and finally had to bring out the somewhat dormant camera.  I find this Australian native simply stunning at every stage of its blooming.
My extras show the scarlet cap just popping off the opening flower, the final helmet shaped fruits which are quite large, and the grace of these beautiful sickle shaped blue/grey gum leaves.
Well, I took the pics and then simply had to share them. Hope you enjoy my 
hesitant revisit to Blip. I know there are Blippers out there who love the uniqueness of our native flora and fauna so I do hope this is a pleasant enough surprise. A bit rusty with the camera, I know. Can't say I have returned, but maybe when the desire to share is overwhelming.........I could sometimes.....
Is it still Flower Friday?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.