a lifetime burning

By Sheol

St Mary Redcliffe Redux

It was a cold, dark grey and miserable day today, but not terribly misty, so not a great day for taking photographs outside.  

So instead, I revisited St Mary Redcliffe this lunchtime to have another go at the opportunities that it represents.  Here is a shot from the nave looking past the chorister's seats towards the altar.  In other words, this one is facing the other way looking back towards the spot where Monday's photo was taken from. 

I've ended up having to shoot hand held on fairly noisy settings again, so this is once again a series of burst exposures stacked in Affinity Photo to remove the noise.  Its a little bit of a faff in post, but it does produce surprisingly low noise shots as you may be able to see from this one.  The side effect is however that I loose the EXIF data, which for those that are interested was Nikon D750 140s f/8 16mm at ISO4000. 

If you can bear to, it looks better in large.

I did find the remains of a cracking little building for a possible Derelict Sunday blip, and I've uploaded it as my extra.  I rather like the contrast with the very white temporary hoarding and the dark aged stone. However, despite quite a bit of postproduction trickery to try to enhance the monotone sky I felt that I might need to have another go at this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.