Gardening Day

We've spent much of today in the garden - working, not lounging I might add.  This little fellow was singing a lovely little melody from his perch on one of the trees in the wood next to our house. We have lots of feeders out, and also some nesting boxes, and this one kept nipping in and out of a box, so hopefully he's setting up his home for the spring.
We left at just gone 4 to have a couple of hours walk, but met that many people who just wanted to chat, that we managed only about an hour's walk altogether. We met a friend and her husband, and she had picked up an empty beer bottle out of a hedge to take it home to dispose of it properly, then we saw another lady who we know just to say hello to, and she was armed with long gardening gloves and a bin bag, and was actually climbing right down into the ditches, retrieving rubbish, in order to clear it all up. What a hero (or rather "heroine"). I then spotted a Stella Artois can on a verge so decided to pick that one up myself and throw it in a nearby bin. I was crossing my fingers that I didn't see anyone I knew as I walked down the road with an empty beer can in my hand!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.