Red Flash

We were watching Murnaghan this morning when I caught a red flash out of the corner of my eye; this Great Spotted Woodpecker who is very shy was hanging from one of the feeders we put on the tree, and which (in theory) are just out of reach of the squirrels.  I had to dash and get the camera quickly as he takes off at the slightest movement. This was quite a long shot, and taken through glass, and although I waited to see it he'd return so I could get closer it didn't happen.  I can't decide whether this is a juvenile or a female, but I think on balance it could be a "she".

Thank you for the lovely comments, stars and hearts left for yesterday's squirrel blip;  so many of you mentioned his ear  -  I can only think he must have been in a fight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.