silver lining

every cloud has one
or so I’m led to believe
and thus it appears

Monday night’s gig was a great success and we were booked for another last night - again in the depths of Leicestershire.  But I had to cancel because of my appointment at the Oxford Cancer Centre yesterday afternoon.  I did contemplate - very briefly, as I left Oxford - driving back up, but it would have meant a round trip of some 200 miles.  And another home-coming in the early hours of the morning.  Too much.

I was disappointed at missing the chance to play with the band again, but I have to be realistic.  And my status as 'guest’ - or ‘with’ - as it appears on the posters, allows me a bit of fun from time to time.

I get an email this morning saying they missed me last night - and that they’d like me to become a full time member of the band - health commitments not withstanding. Yeah.

Anniemay beams; “this is just like the old days.”  She means before cancer when I played almost every week with my old band.  Well it is and it isn’t.  It’s certainly different.   In some ways it’s a lot better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.