Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

A short burst of aurora

Last night there was a quick display of aurora. I set up my go pro you can see the video here.

The last round of the evening was an eventful one yesterday, I had seen a ewe starting to lamb on the previous round so knew to look out for her when I went round, found her but no sign of lamby, scanned around and saw one lying in a puddle looking dead walked over to pick it up and realised it was breathing very shallowly. Its front legs had begun to stiffen even! I shouted husband to get his dog out and catch the ewe as the lamb was still alive just. He caught the ewe and we decided I should rush back and get the lamb fed and under heat asap, while husband sat with the ewe. We knew that any time wasted could loose the lamb. I raced back rubbed it down with straw gave it kick start (electrolyte, mineral, colostrum booster for weak lambs) and made up some milk to tube it with. I could barely open its cold wee mouth. Anyway got it fed and under heat and went back for husband and the ewe. We put it under the heat lamp with his mum and left it for an hour. I came back and offered it milk from a bottle which it took gladly, a good sign if they sook from a bottle means they are getting stronger. Went in this morning and he was standing up and managed to with some guidance sook from his mum and has done it all by himself for the rest of the day! Amazing!

Today husband and I drew off some of the older lambs and their mums and brought them into the handling system and dosed the ewes and put a pour on for ticks on them all and put them out to the hill parks. Feeling a bit bad now its raining but they have the same amount of shelter and there is a bite of grass in the parks.

Then I cleaned one of the self catering cottages as the folk left early. Saves me trying to do all 3 tomorrow. Got busy day tomorrow trying to squeeze a lot in. We will see if I survive it or not!

10c sunshine then overcast then rain by 3pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.