Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

When a house becomes a home...

Warmer weather today must have been the signal the bluebirds have been waiting for...to kick into high gear with the nest box.  Monsieur has been flying around, singing, inspecting Madame's work, eating, preening and generally being quite handsome.  Madame, seen here, has been busy, too - in her case, hauling big beaks full of grass to fill up the nest box.  If I were her, I think I'd be getting a tad short-tempered, especially when Monsieur heads into the box to critique her work.  But that''s just me. Anyway, I thought I'd make this today's blip since I suspect the nest-building will be done by the time I return from FL next week - if all goes well, there should be eggs in the nest by them.  And if you'd like to see Monsieur, I've put a shot of him in Extra.

Lots of bird activity today - three kinds of finches, three kinds of sparrows and all of the other regulars.  Scamper the squirrel and I  nearly gave each other heart attacks when we suddenly realized that a mere 3 feet separated us (she'd approached me from my "blind" side so I didn't see her coming).  Mutual screams and she ran for cover.

More creepy crawly buzzy things are starting to show up in the garden - saw a lightening bug and some sort of tiny waspy thing.  By the time I get back from the Blip Bash, the garden should be rockin'.  And, of course, the hummingbirds should be arriving in just a few weeks - yay!

Tomorrow by this time, sky-gods willing, I'll be in Florida.  Hubs is staying behind, busy working on this potential business venture and caring for the cats and birds.  He's got detailed instructions on all...

Cheers, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.