Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A day at the dump...

Sounds dire, doesn't it? But we ended up having a fantastic time at the Citrus County Landfill photographing Eagles, vultures, dragons and butterflies. Hillyblips, her hubs, Sefferdog and I continued the BoBB adventure today amidst lots of laughs.

My choice today is a first for me, Nessus Sphinx moth nectaring on some thistle. At first glance I was sure this was a hummingbird Clearwing moth, but a closer look revealed it to be a Nessus, related to the clear wings but a different species. It's always exciting to find something new, and definitely blip worthy.

It was amazing to see so many eagles gathered in such a relatively small location. By my best count there were somewhere between 15 and 20 individual Eagles, ranging in ages from 1 to 5 years, with a few Mature adults also present. I will try to post one of the juvenile bald eagles in the extras today.

Tomorrow morning, bright and early, we will be heading up the Silver River in search of rhesus monkeys!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and for all your wonderful words of support during this great adventure.

TT FN
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.