Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Peak District Delight

Well I survived the overnight camp.  We woke to frost on the tents, and I remember waking up during the night and poking my head out of my sleeping bag to find it freezing cold.  Luckily my down jacket and sleeping bag kept me nice and snug.

Breakfast, a cup of tea and a good old natter to put the world right, we then set off on our return trip.

We took up the Pennine Way this time, no major climbs thank goodness, just gradual climbs to Mill Hill where we stopped for lunch.  The weather was glorious and the views around Kinder Scout were absolutely majestic. 

After lunch we made the short walk to a USAF Liberator crash site, luckily the crew had bailed out before it crashed.  Seeing the wreckage though, does make you think.

We then made our way home, pretty much downhill all the way.  By the end we’d completed about 20 miles over 2 days, carrying approximately 65kg on my back, which was a first.

Big thanks to my mate Geoff for joining me on this adventure.

BACK BLIPS:

Saturday - Offa and his Dyke

Sunday - Farewell

Monday - Packed

Tuesday - Wild Thing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.