Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Cwmalsie Lane

I was asked to work a nightshift and it was a pleasure as I love clear roads, and as it was to be a chilly night, the stars woud be more visible. The stars were out but so to were clouds and a bright moon!

After finishing my second job about 12.30am I drove to Cwmalsie Lane, Pontllanfraith, near Blackwood. It runs up, and along the mountain, before dropping into Cwmfelinfach where my son lives. The moon was quite bright which doesn't help astro-phootgraphy, but on a really dark part of the road I stopped and got my camera out to capture these stars through the branches of an overhanging tree.

I just love phtographing stars; they make you realise how small each of us is in the universe and how short our stay is on the earth. It takes light 4 years to reach the Earth from Sirius, a near neighbouring star. Using the Hubble telescope, we can see the light from the Eagle Nebula, which takes 7,000 years to reach the Earth!  So what you see is well in the past.


Later in the day, I was driving and it started sleeting. The car thermometer stating it was 11c. The weather could be interesting for me over the weekend!


Tomorrow's wide angle wednesday challenge is any theme, photo's on the day, and has the tag 25. I normally like to post up results on Friday but may be delayed depending on my wi-fi signal, but shoud be done by Sunday. Good luck and thanks for entering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.