Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Be still my heart!

Yesterday Hubs and I saw a fox around the yard on 3 seperate occasions, once as it chased one of the neighbor's cats into their garage.  That same neighbor stopped by today on another matter and we learned that the fox we saw is a vixen with 7 kits and she's spending quite a lot of time around the edge of the woods in his yard (right next to ours).  Needless to say, I grabbed my camera and shot out the door. I made my stealthy way to the large row of juniper that separates our property and crouched in among the stickery branches.  As I approached, the vixen barked and fled, sending the kits scurrying into some brush.

I continued crouching in the shrubs because I knew if I waited long enough some of them would venture out.  And sure enough, they did.  They were a fair distance away so this image is cropped significantly, but I wouldn't risk getting closer as I didn't want to scare them.  I can't tell you how long a stayed there, watching and clicking off shots - they melted my heart.  I will probably be out there every day until we have to leave next week for Alabama - I mean, how often does one get to watch baby foxes?  

I picked this shot because I like the way the second fox is looking up at the bigger sibling.  The kit looking up is quite a bit smaller than the rest so clearly the runt of the litter.  Seven is a large brood for a Red Fox - hopefully they will all survive. I posted three other shots of the kits on Flickr, starting HERE - worth a look.

I returned to the lake today hoping to find the 4 Canada Goose families, but they were nowhere to be found.  That ass on the lawnmower really did a good job of scaring them away.  What a jerk.

In other exciting backyard news - I saw my first hummer today!  As I was on my way to the lower yard, I glimpsed a male at the feeder in the garden - yay!  I knew they'd show up any day now, just been waiting.  

The chickadees have apparently laid a clutch of eggs in the box in front of the house - I startled Missus out of the box accidentally yesterday when I went to pull some weeds.  I quickly abandoned the weeding project.  And the bluebirds are brooding eggs in their box in back, while the wrens are giving serious consideration to a third box on the far side of our driveway where I've planted native bee balm and milkweed.  

Rose breasted grosbeak was at the feeders again today, looking just magnificent.  Hoping I can get a good shot of him to blip before he settles on his breeding ground - they prefer nesting near marshes or streams, so our yard isn't ideal.

I'm off to stalk more wildlife in the yard now.  Happy Friday, people!

Toodles,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.