Dove's Foot Cranesbill (geranium molle)

This tiny flower growing in the 'lawn' is only 8mm across so perfect for Tiny Tuesday hosted by jensphotos. I spotted it whilst doing my physio exercises in the sunshine. What a treat! (I say lawn but what we actually have is a lovely patch of green, mostly moss, which I like just fine).

It is so named because the fruit looks like a crane's bill whilst the leaves resemble dove's feet. (Questionable in my opinion!) Medicinally, it has been used to treat colic, gout, aches, cuts and bruises.

Meanwhile, I have temporarily been advised to curb my enthusiasm to go walking at every opportunity, to cut driving to a minimum, to revert to simpler physio exercises, to stop bending over to do chores, to stretch more and to rest more. Sigh. Guess who overdid it on the scout & guide weekend? It wasn't the walking per se, it was everything else around it; I'd underestimated the chores that go with a large camp. I didn't do my back any favours in doing them, but there was no way I'd shirk my responsibilities. I am my own worst enemy and daft with it.

Still, I am lucky to have a beautiful garden with lots of flowers and wildlife to blip, so not stomping about the countryside quite so much for a couple of weeks won't be too bad (just one bad as my mum says!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.