Mother's Day in Discovery Bay

Today has been one of the best Mother's Days ever!

After a beautiful service this morning, the cake was well received and hopefully mums in our church were suitably honoured. It fed at least 100 people :). I was so pleased.

Both pictures were taken by my friend Ruth as I didn't have my camera on me and I was in charge of cutting the cake. All credit to her for some nice pics!

Jon and Ben, Roberto and Elizabeth and their kids and I then headed to our favourite lunch spot at the Marina Club for an amazing meal which we all really enjoyed. Their daughter is home from uni so it was wonderful seeing her again.

Then to the Plaza for a celebratory gelato for Elizabeth and me and just to hang out at the tables.

Home for a bit for then the usual Sunday stint at the beach. We had some others join us and it was really pleasant out there today. Martin was missed.

And then when I arrived home, I could smell some yummy food being made in the kitchen. The boys had whipped up the most amazing dinner for me. It was soooo good, I was VERY proud of them, and their thoughtfulness. Impressed too. Great job!

As this could possibly be the last time they're actually with me for Mother's Day, it's been a bit emotional for me. They are fine young men, and I am so proud of them and I'm honoured to be their mum.

As on most days, I am truly grateful for the mother that GadgetKid, my eldest sister and I did have. There are not enough words to describe how her life impacted each one of us, but suffice to say, she was a legend in her own right and I miss her dearly.

PS Freuchie had asked me yesterday how I was doing with my recovery from Bell's Palsy ... And I'm pleased to report that I'm nearly recovered. When I last saw my physiotherapist (late April) he reckoned I had about 10% more to go! My smile is nearly there!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.