BLIPMEET - Goatee Booknerd + LOH + 'Appy

For breakfast today I had brown bread toast, coffee, a banana and a tangerine.

I then grabbed my Google Map and headed for The South Street Cafe where I was meeting a fellow blipper Goatee Booknerd
- and his family.

It was lovely to meet them for the first time and I had a great time.  I have watched little 'Appy growing up via blipfoto and she is as delightful in real life as I imagined she would be.  And her Mam and Dad are smashing too.  I enjoyed chatting with them and reading 'Appy a Thomas The Tank Engine story.  If you look HERE you will see Goatee's blip of me.

The South Street Cafe is renowned for its ice cream so I couldn't not have one could I.  My choice was Salted Caramel - and it was so gooooood.

I said my Goodbyes -  and Becky and Mike came to pick me up around 11.40am. We then drove to Richmond to search for a Smartphone.  Waited for ages in the shop as it was really busy with only 2 staff working.  Finally got to the front of the queue, computer was checked - phone out of stock.  " Its very popular " said the guy.  Anyway he wondered if there might be one " out the back " which wasn't showing up on the system so he went off to look.  And he found one - result. 

Then we went to Kew Gardens.  Mike is a member and Becky gets in free when she accompanies him.  I had already bought a ticket online.  It was lunchtime so we sat outdoors and ate our food.  Becky and Mike had brought a picnic and I got chicken salad, fruit salad and a bottle of posh Dandelion and Burdock from the cafe.

Then we had a good old wander around the gardens.  We went inside the hot house, down into the aquarium and up the steps to the high walkway.  Kew is certainly well worth a visit.  I have put a couple of photos as extras - the Lily Pads and the Pagoda.  I took loads of photos in Kew - its been hard to choose what to post here. (Oh I nearly forgot - I had a pistachio ice cream )

Quickly picked up a change of clothes from my room and then back to Becky and Mikes where Mike prepared and cooked our Sunday meal - roast beef. In between that he sorted out my Smartphone and gave me a crash course on the basics.  I found it tricky learning when  to " swipe " and when to " Tap".  And also I was tapping too heavily or not heavily enough.  Such a change from my old phone which could only send/receive texts and make/receive phone calls--- very basic.

After eating our meal ( which was delicious ) we walked to a nearby pub to take part in the Quiz Night.  Becky and Mike go every Sunday and are often the winning team.  I really enjoyed taking part and managed to answer a few questions which Becky and Mike couldn't. And we WON.  The prize pot was £15. 

Back to Becky and Mikes for a bit more  " Smartphone Tuition " and then they walked me round to my accommodation.  L was already in bed so no chat this evening. I did my packing before settling for the night.

Steps today - 22,232

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.