New Guy in Town

I spent most of my day catching up on all the things that have built up over the last week or two. I have a claim filed on the car and an appointment to get it fixed. We found the two items that were lost. (I didn't mention those in my blip of woe.) One was where Arvin put it. The other wasn't missing at all. It had never been there in the first place. It's a long story...

When Arvin got home we had a quiet sit on the deck and then I cooked dinner on the new barbecue. We ate al fresco and while we were eating I noticed this bird on the edge of the roof looking down at us. That's where the Steller's Jays sit so at first I thought he was one. But wait. He had a blue head, not a black one. And no punk topknot of feathers. He wasn't a Steller's Jay at all... I guessed he was a Scrub Jay and when I looked him up in the book, that is what he was. I went in and got my camera. He had flown to the evergreen at the neighbor's so this is as close as I got. How cool to see him there. I have never seen one on our deck or in our neighborhood before so I was quite excited when I did even though the book sounded like they are quite common on bird feeders in this area.

After dinner Arv and I went to see the herons at the rookery in Fairhaven. A few flew by and we could here a racket, but most were hidden behind the leafy trees. We rewarded ourselves for no actual reason, but so what, with a stop at Rocket Donuts for some Acme ice cream. Yum! 

When we got home we watched two episodes of "Doctor Thorne" a new series written by Julian Fellows who wrote Downton Abbey. It is on Amazon in case you are interested. So far it is interesting but hasn't grabbed us like Downton did... We'll be back for more anyhow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.