Battered and Bedraggled

Today it has mostly rained and been dull.
Miss L had her induction day at Miss E's school. She's spending the day in Year 2 with her new classmates and teacher. She's been so excited about it! 
It was lovely watching them both go in arm in arm - they're so sweet together.
For the first time in months I didn't have to drive to the other school which felt funny. The first time neither of them have been there in school time for almost six years!
I went to Mrs K's for coffee and a chat. Mrs A and Mrs S were there too and it was lovely to have a proper catch up. I resisted croissants and brioche, woohoo!!
When it was time I headed to school for a Meet the Teachers garden party. Unfortunately it was raining so we had to meet the teachers inside! 
There was a bit of an introduction in the hall - with Pimms and canapés!! - and then we went to the classroom for a chat with the Year 2 teacher.
It was really nice to meet some of the new mums - I missed out on that with Miss E - and hear about what they'll be doing next year. Unfortunately it all went a bit wrong when some of the existing mums got cross about the class size and started haranguing the teacher. Who seems eminently capable of handling a class of any size!!
So the meeting overran, it was all a bit tetchy and I was getting a bit stressed about where Miss E was and the fact that I hadn't met her new teacher.
Miss L seemed a bit flat when she came in which didn't help my mood. I asked her in the car how her day had gone and she mumbled it had been OK but that she wants to stay at her school. Sigh.
She wouldn't offer any explanation other than asking again why she should have to go to a new school "just because Miss E wants to".
I'm hoping that she was just tired and feeling a bit overwhelmed. I know I was!!
Home for a night's agonising about what to do for the best. I found out that if Miss L stays at her current school her class will be the same and she'll have a teacher she's been doing literacy with this year - who she likes and who likes her. 
We'll have to talk to her tomorrow and see what she's thinking. And try and decide what to do for the best.
Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.