Today's Special

By Connections

A Delightful Day!

I went down to Seattle on the BoltBus this morning to spend the day with my son, W.  I looked like a tourist, gawking at all the new buildings since my last visit, and was quite taken by this "Community Banana Stand" located between two of those buildings and dwarfed by some interesting art.

W and I had much to celebrate -- his move a few months ago from a studio (one room) apartment to a larger one bedroom apartment (see extras), and most of all, his recently finalized two-book deal with HarperCollins, one of the world's largest publishers! W's books are aimed at middle grade students (ages 8-12), and the first one will be out in spring 2018.

It was an immense thrill for his bibliophile mother to read the notice in Publishers Weekly recently, particularly as it's rare for a debut author to have a two-book deal.  

W and I had a celebratory lunch in the Oddfellows Cafe, where I enjoyed a delicious Kale and Farro Bowl, which also included avocado, shaved fennel, baby turnips, pickled vegetables, and toasted almonds (see extras), and then spent a blissful hour in the outstanding Elliott Bay Book Company, an outstanding independent book store where W's books will be, I expect!

We walked back to his place, relishing the sunshine and the ever-changing views of Seattle, and had some quiet time together reading (of course!) before heading for the Link Light Rail to get me back to the 6 p.m. BoltBus heading for Bellingham and Vancouver, B.C.

A side benefit of a day in Seattle is all the steps on my Fitbit -- I'll hit 11,000 steps before I go to bed, which will be soon, as it's 11 p.m.! I'll catch up with your journals in the next couple of days.

Blip 1568

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.