1001

I’ll start by writing many thanks to everyone who commented or gave me stars and hearts for my 1000th blip of one of the poppies in our garden.  Thanks to you all, that blip spent a short time on page 2 of the Popular section, which I think is the best one of my images has done.
I’m quite surprised to have reached 1000 blips as I’d tried the daily photograph idea a few times previously but never stuck to it.  A large part of why I stuck with Blip was all the other blippers. As many have said before me, the community on Blip is very special. It’s friendly, helpful and interesting. Following other blippers gives me an insight into life in other places and other ways of life.  So, you all drew me into the community and kept me here – many thanks, and long may it last.
Ironically after 1000 days of Blip I then disappeared for a few days!  My never-ending cold returned in full force and though I managed to get a photo every day I didn’t have the energy to get them onto Blip. I’ll backblip them eventually to fill in the gaps.
This image is also from the garden.  In many of the wilder areas of our garden these “lilies” pop up, sometime singularly but more often in bunches. It’s interesting that one of the most exotic flowers in the garden is a wild flower!
What is this exotic bloom?  I’m not 100% sure but I think it is Hemerocallis fulva, and one of its many English names is The Orange Day-lily. None of the images on internet looks quite identical to these flowers so I’m open to suggestions if anyone has a better idea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.