Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

In the mood

I don't bake much but today I decided to use up some yucky peanut butter (that is what I get for buying the cheaper brand instead of Jif or Skippy's). So I started digging around in the many cookbooks I have.  Why I have so many cookbooks I don't know, I have my one or two favorites, or one recipe out of this one or that one.    But this cookbook was one that my Mom bought years ago from our neighbor when I was growing up.  Mrs. Loretta's church ladies put together a cookbook with all their favorite family recipes and had it published as a fund raiser.  Mrs. Loretta was a really good cook..maybe better than my Mom and that is saying something.   I ate many of these peanut butter cookies when I was growing up..and probably helped to make a few batches.  Mrs. Loretta also taught me how to sew..she tried teaching me to crochet but that was not going to happen.   Anyway, today I will make peanut butter cookies and think of her very fondly as she passed away several years ago.    

I bet I am not the only one that has 40 cookbooks and countless loose recipes stashed in the cookbooks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.