Meg is still with us...

...but on Tuesday, a few days ago, when I went to see Meg in the Veterinary Hospital the vet handed me Meg saying she was not eating at all and deteriorating badly and wouldn't last more than a couple of days, and to take her home and say goodbye.

So emotionally I was in pieces.

But I didn't say goodbye. I cuddled her and did reiki on her. And I put out a water bowl in every room including the bathroom as well as a food bar for her. The food bar consisted of several varieties of dog biscuits on a trays well as a bit of chicken and other things. I keep getting new dog biscuits and adding those. She needs very small ones.

There is a food bar in the bathroom (because I do spend some time in there and she was still following me around albeit very unsteadily initially), in the front room and in the kitchen. She liked these food bars and investigated them all sampling one or two tiny biscuits from each. By the next day she was eating a little more. Although she is still very thin, only 4.3 kilos (today). She should be around 5.7kilos.She is not eating a lot yet but comes foraging each time I go in one of those rooms. I have made up a few other games with food as well which she is interested in.

Today, Friday, when I took her back to the Veterinary Hospital the vet, Oncologist, was very surprised and said she thought she would be putting Meg down today. But on seeing this kind of improvement with her eating and the fact she was now steady on her feet, and showing no signs of vacancy that she showed before, the oncologist has provisionally booked a CT scan for Monday with a view to radiotherapy treatment. So now a meeting has been arranged for Monday with the Oncologist and someone else for insurance purposes.

I may or may not take them up on any possible offer, because I want for Meg quality of life in her remaining days, whatever they those days or longer are. And I am unsure at this moment about the possible effects of radiotherapy affecting quality of life in an older dog. I would need to see Meg in an even better place than she is in today on Monday, for me to agree to that course of treatment. The treatment would be 3 times a week for 4 weeks to hopefully get rid of the brain tumour.

As you can guess my emotions have been all over the place. I have barely been able to cope at times. I have shut myself away from everyone and everything to be able to cope with this and put all my energies into Meg. It is the only way I can deal with this.

The little inset photo is Meg after her reiki treatment yesterday morning with me. The bigger picture is Meg walking in the stream meeting up with another dog last night.

Thank you for all your good wishes from everywhere. Thank you for the love for Meg x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.