Maison Des Martyrs

I (Annie) popped out before leaving Su and Colin's this morning to the monument that is next to their house. On 14th July 1944, retreating Nazis shot and killed 11 members of the Veny French Resistance cell which was housed in the building in the blip. It has been kept empty since, and has just been bought by the local community to keep preserved.

Waving goodbye to Su (thank you again to you both for your brilliant hospitality - I love the house!), I began the long drive back up to almost Calais. I started a bit cross country, as the smaller roads are more interesting than a lot of Motorway. Winding through Bergerac then Angouleme, I finally got sensible and faster on the Autoroute. It was plain sailing aside from the Paris Peripherique being stuffed, so I found myself winding through the streets of Paris itself... After about 500 miles I pulled into my home for the night - an old Chateau. Having already locked myself in my room accidently and been unable to lock the shared bathroom, it makes for an interesting stay.

In an act of total sacrilege, my last night in France has been spent (for speed and ease) eating in McDonalds. It would never be my first (or even 100th) choice, but it does have free WiFi!

Today is also Rosie's 15th birthday. Happy Birthday Rosie.


Yesterday back-blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.