Passing the Shipyard (8)

16.6C starting bright. Clouding over through the morning then smir arriving early afternoon. Moderate Easterly then ESE breeze.

This morning I finished the second of the books we got from the local bookshop recently. A Small Place in Italy (1994) by Eric Newby (1919 - 2006). A personal memoir of the renovation of a very old house in Italy with a glimpse of a rural way of life in Italy now consigned to history. Beautifully written.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walk. There was a threat of the smir to come in the air.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went out again. Eagles (Hell Freezes Over) on the iPod Mini. I went out Low Askomill to the old shipyard. As I walked along the smir got heavier. By the time I reached the shipyard it was like a fine mist coming in over the loch on the breeze. The far shore of the loch was becoming indistinct and beyond the shipyard Davaar island was featureless beyond the drifting clouds of rain.

Just as I got to the high point on the slope behind the shipyard a fishing boat, which had been lying offshore near Glenramskill, began to get under way then turned and made for the channel to go out to sea. I managed to grab a shot as it was passing the shipyard. Because I hadn't had time to compose the picture the way I have been for this sort of image you are seeing the whole of the old shipyard this time, complete with all the discarded bits of boats and sheds and beams lying in beyond the slipway. The three figures, two of whom were fishing, give some idea of scale. It was about an hour after high tide.

I didn't go out the North shore path since it was becoming quite wet. On the way back I still walked round the esplanade to the harbour and came back home through town. The clouds were down lower than the hills surrounding the town by the time I got home and although I can still see the lower slopes on Beinn Ghuilean where I was walking yesterday, Davaar island is no longer visible from the top floor of our house (4.30pm). It looks quite bright over the hill and to the West.

Afternoon music ... U2, The Joshua Tree. Mark Knopfler, Sailing to Philadelphia. Paul Anka, Rock Swings.

E-PL5 f/8 1/400 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.