stujphoto

By stujphoto

Mission nearly aborted....l

I set out today with my really big telezoom (Sigma 100--300mm f2.8) with the intention of capturing some birds in flight (bifs) as I had not done one for some time. When I am looking for birds flying around I generally end up at the harbour as you can be sure of some bird movement there. However, as I was heading off after my morning swim I noted some swallows nesting in the eaves of the swimming pool and wasted a good half hour trying in vain to capture their flight. Down at the harbour my efforts were concentrated on gulls in flight but I did not have much more success as I was continually trying to autofocus against very cluttered backgrounds. In the past I have managed much better with a 200mm prime lens even with added extenders. My big telezoom is so unwieldy I have to use it with a monopod whereas I can hand hold with the prime lens as long as I have ratcheted up the ISO. The two images I have included as my blip seem a bit unsettling as we re not used to seeing birds flying underneath boats. Of the two I probably like the right-hand one as the ripples on the water give a sensation of rapid movement. I have compensated for my limited success by including a close-up of some herring gulls on the harbour edge as the details of their plumage is just so sharp you can almost feel the texture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.