BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Fog Lane

I was in the car with my son,
a learner driver, the Highway Code
fresh in his head, giving him a lesson.


It was going well. He’d slowed
down, signalled, taken a left turn,
and there we were, on that accursed road


- Fog Lane. If you chance down Fog Lane
you’ll lose your way.
You’ll find that your brain


stalls and, even on a sunny day,
you’ll see no further than
your outstretched hand. Some say


there really has been a curse placed upon
that stretch of tarmac. Avoid it
if you can. As for me and my son,


we lost track of time as minute
by minute time moved on. The satnav
went haywire, couldn’t hack it,


turn left, right, make a U turn it said. I have
no clear idea how we did escape from Fog Lane.
I fear my son will never get behind the wheel again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.