Goldfinch at Breakfast

The echinacea have gone to seed, and this goldfinch was apparently the first to get the memo. I found this pretty golden fellow snacking on them in the Arboretum's children's garden, Childhood's Gate.

The spent echinacea are surrounded by some marvelously shaped yellow flowers with thin, spindly petals that are quite shapely. I have to admit I'm not sure what they are. If anyone has an idea, feel free to help identify these in the comments.

I came across this wonderful song and video on YouTube earlier this week, and it is an absolutely marvelous 1969 treat, a favorite tune from my childhood. The video is full of yellow flowers, some with very spindly parts. The lead singer is wearing an ultra-cool leather coat with fringes, and the others are . . . . well, take a look for yourself; colorful is the best word I can come up with. :-) I think you might call this performance just a little bit . . . psychedelic. Please enjoy this classic from the Grass Roots: Heaven Knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.