TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Daphne

On arriving at my hairdresser's today I was bombarded by the scent of four flower laden daphne bushes right outside her door.  She has a beautifully appointed salon as part of her home of the farm on which she and her partner run horses and dorpa sheep.  I love daphne - its colour, its structure and its beautiful perfume.
My extra is a limited collage of wildflowers I captured when I was at Gemmill Swamp on Wednesday. Rather than post three extras I thought I would try creating my own collage layout.  Couldn't control everything, (I would like to have expanded the wattle shot across more of the background - failed several times!) but am OK with this.
The background of course, is our lovely wattle.  This has larger flowers than those of my last Blip, so a little easier to capture.  The flower in the upper left is a mistletoe, peculiar to just the wattle (acacia).  I thought it most intriguing. In Australia these mistletoes adopt similar shape, size and presentation of the leaves as those of their host plant. The flower in the lower right of the frame is the Dillwynnia glaberrima, commonly know as bacon and egg plant which is a common sight in our area and right along the east coast. This particular plant only occurs in Australia, while other varieties are native to Eurasia and North Africa.

I am heading to Melbourne for a couple of days so have no hope of catching up or checking Blip.  Taking youngest grandchild to the theatre see "Matilda ". Thanks for your responses to my photos -nothing goes unnoticed or unappreciated.  Many thanks.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.