City Hall, Norwich

Back to information filled, educational blips, about bits of Norwich I know nothing about...until I take a photo, then do a bit of research!

Here goes with City Hall. Quite interesting. It is built on the site of a shoe making business. Something Norwich was famous for. James Smith set up his business on this site in 1792. The business eventually became 'Start-Rite'!

It was decided that the city needed a new building for its civic functions; it had outgrown the guildhall, and so the plans for City Hall grew. In 1936 the foundation stone was laid, and on 29 October 1938 it was opened in front of an unprecedented number of people, by King George VI. Apparently, it holds the largest clock bell in the UK and the longest balcony in England.

It has an impressive position, overlooking the market, towards the castle. All now iconically 'Norwich'.

Home after a busy day trying to consolidate my learning and notes. I had guests for dinner. James and Claire from Cambridge who had been on the beach yesterday, and were staying up here for a few days, to enjoy our little piece of the UK. We enjoyed a dinner prepared by Mollie & pudding courtesy of my guests, so I actually did nothing! Lots more chatting, until it was time for them to head back to their holiday cottage.

As I prepared to say goodbye, we noticed a gathering on the window of half a dozen at least, large hornets. They were on the outside, so I closed all the windows. Too late for a couple - one in Henry's room I captured, and one in the conservatory which I've left there. So they are at the back of the house and at the front. It is going to be a very warm night without any windows open, but I daren't.

So someone has opened a hornets nest.....not nice, when there are so many!

Off to bed now. A nice start to my week.....apart from the hornets!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.