But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Dunbar Harbour.

The cycle run was to Dunbar today, and with a westerly wind it was hard work riding home during the afternoon. The harbour seemed ideal for a fish-eye shot for the Wide Angle Wednesday challenge and showed me that I need to do some work on a few aspects of my photography. Life would become quite boring if I were ever able to master the art and, while I wouldn’t dream of comparing myself with superb craftsmen like Ansel Adams, I’m quite sure that even he felt that he had a lot left to learn.
 
The curve of the foreground was quite serendipitous and is due entirely to the distortion of the lens; with it comes the effect of the sloping ground which I find grates somewhat: I must really learn how to use the warp tools to modify this. 
The other issue was the need to use HDR, though I only used two exposures; I combined them manually which raises the second problem. While I regularly use the Nik filters, including the “HDR Efex Pro” on a single image, I find that I am unable to use it to merge images and achieve realistic results. Homework is required, together with the time to do it.
 
Thanks are due to Bobsblips for hosting today’s challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.