ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Halved.

Getting out of bed was extraordinarily hard today... Not just because it was Monday, but because I must have tweaked my back playing golf with M yesterday, and all my muscles were screaming. Managed to hobble into work and spent the day teaching one of the newer girls to write chemical permits. Who would have thought that I would pick it up that fast? 8 months ago I had to write my first ever permit, and ended up in tears several times, feeling overwhelmed with the sheer amount of knowledge I just didn't have. I don't know when I developed the experience that now allows me to teach someone else what to do - it sort of snuck up on me. What a good feeling.

After work I made my way to the chiropractor (slowly, holding my breath to steady the muscles in my back) who did some horrible clicky things to my spine and made it feel temporarily better. This will be a long-term treatment period, and I'll be back again on Wednesday when he will teach me exercises to strengthen my lower back muscles. When I got home I did a bit of digging and found out that the health insurance I get through work covers me for 10 sessions a year with a chiropractor. Brilliant news - I'm charged £40-60 a session, so 10 free sessions is a huge bonus! Not only that, but my insured year runs until October, and then I will get another free 10 sessions; that should hopefully take me to the end of my treatment!

Last night the Aberdeen lifeboat was damaged in a collision in Aberdeen harbour, so M was part of the crew that travelled down to Hartlepool today to pick up a replacement boat. It's a 7-hour steam back to Aberdeen, so M will be home very late tonight, but I'm sure he'll enjoy it. I just wish I could join in his passion - perhaps I could get some hypnotic therapy to cure me of my seasickness?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.