Unexpected space

Down a little lane, a short distance from the busy A470 there's a little triangle of green space. Whenever I get off the bus and walk down this way, it's always unexpected. It's a little leftover bit of green that was never built on.

When I was younger we knew the kids up this way as 'the brookies'. I never knew why at the time - but today I found that there is a little brook that runs down one side of the triangle. The space is enclosed by the backs of three sets of houses and must be a safe place to play. I don't know if the children are still called 'brookies'!

Whenever I come this way and emerge from the mossy lane, instead of going down the road, it always feels strange, as if it shouldn't have been there. It's an unexpected space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.