Belfast Reunion

Yesterday I flew to Belfast for a mini-reunion with 3 others whom I had studied with and shared a room with over 30 years ago! Heather (far right) and her husband Eric had visited me last week. I had seen them a couple of times about 10 years ago in their home in North Carolina. After school I had lost touch with her quite quickly and it was only through Facebook that we found each other again! I had not seen Stephanie (far left) or May (second left) in all these years either, even though Belfast is not that far away! It was probably Facebook that brought us back in touch also. I've wanted to go to Belfast for a long time so this was a perfect opportunity to join the reunion and visit Northern Ireland.

This morning we went to St George's Market where we enjoyed some eating and shopping. The market is part farmers market, part arts and crafts market with pop up restaurants, bakeries and coffee shops. We even had some music to keep us entertained. Besides a big 'Ulster Fry' for breakfast l tried several of the local delicacies, including a bag of 'Dulce' - the local seaweed. Not bad!

This afternoon I got to see a little more of the city centre as well as some of the other well-known spots in Belfast. The day ended with a delicious meal in Belfast Castle. Quite appropriate since we all met while attending school also in a castle, so many years ago. It didn't seem to matter that so many years had passed and our lives have gone in so many different directions. There was a lot to talk about and tons of laughter - a real special bond between us! A perfect day and a beautiful city to return to - soon, I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.