Memories

Not a great day today with rain and wind forecast. I took my camera when we went out to the library but found no inspiration. Then I thought I would try to photograph the train leaving Oban for Glasgow, coming under the distant road bridge, round the bend and along the cutting, something I thought happened just before noon. I stood on the bridge in the increasing rain until I found myself thinking 'I'll count to 100 and then leave', which I did. It was 12.07 when I got back to the car. When I checked the timetable at home it said '12.11'! Duh! A Blip for another day.

It had to be an indoor Blip, so I photographed this group of four watercolours which belonged to my great-aunt Emily. She had bought them in Cairo sometime between the wars - her husband Eldred was a sanitary engineer and they spent many years between the early 20s and 1944 working in the Sudan and travelling around Africa in their holidays. A lovely memory of a very interesting lady. I'm glad that I got to know her quite well in the later years of her long life - she lived to be 98.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.